Contact   |   Register   |   Join
Share |


IAOMS Awards recognize individuals who exemplify exceptional professional practice, innovation, leadership and advocacy in the specialty of oral and maxillofacial surgery. These awards are presented at ICOMS, the IAOMS biennial conference.

Distinguished Service Award
The Executive Committee may select a Fellow to receive the Association's Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes exceptional support above that ordinarily expected in a focused area of IAOMS endeavors and/or initiatives.
John Curtin, Australia

Recognized for his service to the IAOMS and IAOMS Foundation in his instrumental role in planning the first IAOMS Foundation fundraising activities during ICOMS 2015 in Melbourne. Dr. Curtin has shown great creativity, networking skills and determination to develop and implement a most attractive and profitable program for the Foundation. His achievement is an inspiration for all of us and has set the highest standards for the Foundation fundraising activities to become a new and strong tradition at all future ICOMS.

Larry Nissen, United States

Recognized for his service to the IAOMS for his dedication and commitment to the IAOMS and the IAOMS Foundation. Following his IAOMS Presidency, Dr. Nissen served as the Foundation Chairman for a period of four years. Under his leadership, the Foundation has seen an unprecedented growth. Dr. Nissen has also given great service to IAOMS as chair of the Governance Committee, strengthening the Association's rules of governance and accountability. 



Outstanding Committee Member Award

This award recognizes an IAOMS member for outstanding committee service.
Gabriele Millesi - Austria

Recognized for her outstanding and consistent dedication to serving on IAOMS committees for nearly two decades, first in the Local Organizing Committee of the Vienna ICOMS, and then for six years as Member at Large of the Executive Committee. During this time Dr. Millesi has also greatly contributed in several ad hoc committees such as the Workforce Report, the Governance Committee and the ICOMS Guidelines Review.



Distinguished Fellows
The IAOMS Executive Committee may recommend electing selected individuals − oral and maxillofacial surgeons or others − who have provided distinguished service to the specialty internationally to Honorary Fellowship of the Association.  Distinguished Fellows shall be automatically considered IAOMS Life Members.

2015 Distinguished Fellows

Karl Leibinger - Germany

Karl Leibinger revolutionized osteosynthesis and has engaged the surgical community in a meaningful partnership with the industry. Mr. Leibinger also has been a tremendous supporter of the IAOMS Foundation, which will enable the IAOMS Foundation to support a Fellowship in perpetuity. 

Kishore Nayak, India

In recognition of Dr. Nayak's leadership, courage, perseverance, devotion and focused vision which guided the IAOMS through a transition period.  

Larry Nissen, United States

Following his successful presidency, Dr. Nissen serves as the IAOMS Foundation Chairman.  Under his leadership, the Foundation experienced unprecedented growth.  Additionally, Dr. Nissen has dedicated significant time to strengthen to strengthen Governance as Chair of that Committee.  



Presidential Lecturers at ICOMS
The IAOMS President selects a distinguished expert in the field to deliver the Presidential Lecture at each International Conference of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (ICOMS).
Henning Schliephake, Germany

"The Use of Biotechnology in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery – A Challenge for the Clinician and the Specialty"

2015 Presidential Citation
The President may recognize a Fellow who has made exceptional contributions to the IAOMS and/or the specialty.
Mark Wong, United States

Recognized for his tireless work to establish the International Board for the Certification of Specialists in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (IBCSOMS).  

Takashi Fujibayashi, Japan

Recognized for his outstanding service as Reviewer for the International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (IJOMS), and for over a decade as the Chairman of the Oral Medicine Section that has grew under his leadership. 


Click here for the full list of Award Recipients.